Val d'Ega

UNESCO World Heritage Dolomites

The Dolomites World Heritage Site in the Val d’Ega

The legacy of the Earth

Unforgettably shaped pale rock formations rise steeply towards the sky: the Dolomites, declared a world heritage site by UNESCO in 2009, cover an area of 142,000 hectares: a protected area for the natural mountain world, one of universal significance for humanity as a whole.

Images of the Dolomites

The Catinaccio and Latemar massifs stretch into the blue sky above the Dolomites as if posing for a painting; the mighty Bletterbach gorge scours the rocks at the foot of the Corno Bianco, revealing evidence of prehistoric times: together with the Sciliar-Catinaccio, Fanes-Sennes-Prags, Tre Cime di Lavaredo and Puez-Odle nature parks, the Dolomite monuments of the Val d’Ega form part of the South Tyrolean section of the UNESCO World Heritage Site and are thus quite literally unique in the world.

A World Heritage Site to explore

Standing before us like a natural work of art, the Dolomites can nevertheless be physically explored, whether on foot, by bike, on skis, with snowshoes or by toboggan these are mountains that will move you!